Tuesday 11 August 2009

Update on Newham's Departing Labour Councillors

Many thanks to those who have passed on information about the Newham Labour councillors who have either been deselected or are leaving before they are pushed.

The latest update is that Ian Corbett (East Ham Central ward, £41,560 in expenses during 2008-09) Lester Hudson (Wall End, £24,972) and Megan Harris Mitchell (West Ham, £11,890) were not selected for inclusion on the panel but are appealing.

The following 12 councillors have either been deselected, have decided to stand down before they are pushed or are going because they have had enough of working with the Mayor:

Christine Bowden (Beckton, £54,553)
June Leitch (Boleyn, £29,067)
Michael Nicholls (Forest Gate North, £10,627)
Akbar Chaudhary (Forest Gate South, £11,863)
Judith Garfield (Forest Gate South, £10,627)
Graham Lane (Plaistow South, £10,687)
Maureen Jones (Plaistow South, £10,627)
David Griffen (Stratford and New Town, £20,872)
James Butler (Custom House, £15,752)
Sukhdev Singh Marway (East Ham North, £10,627)
Pat Sheekey (East Ham North, £16, 661)
Ayub Korom Ali (Manor Park, £13,752)

The process is not yet been completed – apparently there are 16 contenders for the three seats in Plaistow South ward, meaning that the Mayor's "Executive Member for Equalities and Social Inclusion", Neil Wilson (£24,972), may also be in trouble.

Of the new people, I've heard only that someone called John Gray is on the list of prospective candidates (see his blog), as is Colin Zetie of Groundwork East London, who appeared in Gordon Brown's 'Everyday Heroes' book.

Any more information will be gratefully received.

Be the first to comment

Random Blowe | Original articles licensed under a Creative Commons License.